One of the amazing qualities of yoga is that it feels good!  Each pose helps us feel better in a specific part of our body.  Certain poses, also known as asanas, build strength, while others stretch muscles.  What is your favorite pose?  Why?
Amy Bunker
1/20/2010 08:56:46 am

My favorite yoga pose is the table pose because it helps strengthen my back, arms, and legs!

Reply
1/20/2010 11:07:27 am

Hi Amy,
I am so proud of you for being the first student to use the blog to share information. Thank you for following through and hopefully others will enjoy reading your comment.
Namaste, Nancy

Reply
1/24/2010 01:05:36 pm

As a Yogi, I enjoy Tree pose as it enables one to focus and maintain concentration with ease. The posture itself calls for balance and centers the body as the eyes find a steady gaze. Focus is needed, but once achieved the mind can go blank or in to meditation. This pose is perfect for all levels as it starts simple and allows many layers to be added.

Reply
1/24/2010 09:58:18 pm

Hi Kate,
Thanks for entering your favorite pose. I am aware that tree pose is a challenging pose due to balance required to maintain this position. You are correct that a soft gaze is needed and breathing deeply helps to ground the pose much as a tree spreads its roots.

Good luck with your practice!
Nancy

Reply
Marie
2/1/2010 11:48:05 am

My favorite pose changes weekly as the needs of my body do! However, I always like "helicopter" (even at my age) and feel compelled to do it while waiting to board an airplane when I will be confined.
I love table pose too for the same reasons as Amy above. Thank you!

Reply
Zach Hartje
2/2/2010 03:27:35 am

My favorite pose is squat because it helps me balance more.

Reply
2/2/2010 06:02:52 am

Marie,
Thank you for your sharing. I hope others benefit from your input. My favorite pose varies as well depending on my body on any given day and at different times throughout the day!

Reply
2/2/2010 06:03:58 am

Hi Zachary,
I am very proud of you for accomplishing balance in this pose, you have worked diligently with this!
Nancy

Reply
2/10/2010 09:34:03 am

My favorite pose is the squat because it teaches me how to balance on my tippy-toes when I'm kneeling down and keeps me focused!

Reply
2/10/2010 10:47:19 am

Reply
2/10/2010 10:48:37 am

Hi Chase,
I think it is great you like the squat pose. I am so glad to know this pose as it makes it easier to move down to floor level to pick something up off of the floor :)

Reply
Denise San Angelo
3/8/2010 02:56:20 am

One of my favorite poses is the forward bend, which follows the spinal roll.
I feel the gentle release of lower back tension which seems to always be there before I begin yoga. I am so very grateful to have yoga in my life!

Reply
3/8/2010 11:41:14 pm

I am so very grateful to have you in my yoga class!

Reply
Dominique
3/29/2010 12:59:09 pm

My favorite pose is the downward dog one, it really helps me relax!

Reply



Leave a Reply.